The Traffic

Latest update: “12 die in giant Indonesian traffic jam: Official”

 http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/asiapacific/12-die-in-giant/2940736.html

Since the the past 2 decades, Indonesians are more mobile than ever. The first thing you may notice wherever in Indonesia is the traffic. Many people move from one place to another, from one city to another, even inter islands, not only by car or airplane, but on motorcycles. There are toll-roads / free-ways (only for cars, not motorcycles), but on long weekends and worse on public holidays, all roads (except toll roads) are packed with private cars, big buses, and motorcycles.

Day Date Holiday Comments
Friday January 01 New Years Day
Monday February 08 Chinese New Year Imlek.
Wednesday March 09 Hari Raya Nyepi Balinese New Year
Friday March 25 Good Friday International Catholic holiday
Sunday May 01 Labour Day World Labour day
Thursday May 05 Ascension Day 40 days after Easter
Thursday May 05 Isra Miraj
Sunday May 22 Waisak Day Birth of Buddha
Monday July 04 Cuti Bersama Extra holiday declared by the government
Tuesday July 05 Cuti Bersama Extra holiday declared by the government
Wednesday July 06 Hari Raya Puasa End of Ramadan
Thursday July 07 Hari Raya Puasa Holiday Eid Al-Fitr
Friday July 08 Cuti Bersama Extra holiday declared by the government
Wednesday August 17 Independence Day Marks the start of the revolution against the Netherlands in 1945
Monday September 12 Idul Adha
Sunday October 02 Muharram Islamic New Year
Monday December 12 Maulidur Rasul Marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed
Sunday December 25 Christmas Day
Monday December 26 Cuti Bersama Extra holiday declared by the government

Why holiday matters, if not critical, to your overall Indonesia Travel Plan ?

ferry_motor
Ferry crossing between Sumatra and Java. Packed with motorcycles during the last days of Ramadhan, nearing the Eid Day.

Bookings and Reservation: it could be hard to choose a preferred hotel, flight, train etc. on holidays. Book reserve earlier, at least a month ahead.

Traffic: you don’t want to get stuck in a traffic and not be able to move at all for 8 hours, meanwhile on normal days that very same distance could be covered in less than 3 hours.

Restaurants: related to Islamic Holidays, the 30 days Ramadhan month is a fasting month where during the day all food vendors (restaurants) are closed, especially in regions with high Muslim population. Nevertheless, some western-food franchises and restaurants in international hotels remain open as usual.

ramadhan_resto
Restaurant windows covered with curtain during the day in the month of Ramadhan.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *